Forensics Squad to Nationals!

(News about the Scott Community High School Forensics team from their coach, Summer Ford.  Thank you, Summer!  Everyone, please plan on having your car washed on 25 April!)

"This year, the SCHS Forensics squad joined a National Forensics League call the CFL.  It's a nationally recognized league and is also endorsed by Kansas State High School Activities Association.  We attended a qualifying meet on March 16, 2013.  This was a one time shot to qualify for Nationals.  After four VERY INTENSE ROUNDS...we ended up qualifying five kids!  Maris Griffith and Marissa Morris qualified in Oral Interpretation of Literature, Lizzy Parkinson and Macy Davis qualified in Oral Declamation and Kiersten Scott qualified in Oratory.  We will travel to Philadelphia, PA on Memorial Day weekend to compete.  We are so proud and excited.   Read more: Forensics Squad to Nationals!

Readers Wanted

The Scott City Elementary School is asking for volunteers from the community to help out with a new reading initiative.  This would be a great opportunity to help some students if you have just one extra hour per week!  Use the link to find the overview and volunteer form for the program.  Thanks in advance!

SCES Reading Program

FFA's Impressive 2010-2011 Year

The Scott Community High School FFA Chapter had a very impressive school year in 2010-2011.  Much applause to these young people and their agricultural efforts!

FFA Results 2010-2011

School Enrollment Dates

Here are the dates for school enrollment:

Elementary School (Kindergarten through 4th grade): 

Monday and Tuesday, 8-9 August, 8:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.

Middle School (5th through 8th grade): 

Tuesday through Thursday, 9-11 August, 8:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

High School: 

Juniors and Seniors, Tuesday, 8 August, 7:30 a.m.-Noon

Freshman and Sophomores, Wednesday, 9 August, 7:30 a.m-Noon

New Students, Thursday, 10 August, 7:20 a.m.-Noon

KU Honor Students

KU honored 16 high school seniors from four western Kansas counties on April 13, 2011.

LAWRENCE - Students from five Kansas high schools were honored Wednesday, April 13, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.  A total of 16 seniors from high schools in Greeley, Lane, Scott, and Wichita counties were recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at the Majestic Theater, 420 Main St., Scott City.

The Kansas Honors Program celebrates its 40th anniversary this year. Since 1971, the program has recognized 114,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 41 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state.  During the ceremony, each student received an American Heritage Dictionary, in both hardback and electronic versions, presented by Michelle Miles, assistant director of Kansas programs for the KU Alumni Association.  David Johnston, director of marketing and Internet services for the KU Alumni Association, spoke to the students and their parents and guests.  Honored students were the guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment.


The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.

Those students honored from Scott Community High School were Christopher Davis, Emily Hess, Carl Minnix, Katelin Murphy, Miles Pearson, Kaleb Roemer, Kaitlyn Thornburg, and Kaytlin Whipple.

  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  Next 
  •  End 

Page 1 of 2

Go to top